Train for the health of it ... Race for the fun of it!

About OMRR

The Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners is a not-for-profit organization of nearly 400 individuals dedicated to wellness, fitness, running, and caring. All OMRR Board members are unpaid volunteers. All proceeds to OMRR are used for club-related activities such as supporting local and national charities, organizing local races, publishing the Running Briefs newsletter and this Web site, and maintaining a clean environment. We need fitness enthusiasts of all types to support OMRR. Please become a member and join with us in our crusade for fun, fitness, and caring!


The mission of the Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners is to promote the health benefits of running as well as the pleasurable and competitive aspects of the sport while doing our part to improve the lives of others.


The Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners was founded in 1978, due primarily to the efforts of Dr. Wayne C. McKinney of Missouri State University and Floyd R. Johnson, Jr. In the 1970's Dr. McKinney directed an annual Two Mile Jog, an estimated time run. Floyd Johnson conducted "Fun Runs" on a regular basis, which tended to be more competitive in nature. In 1977 a group of Springfield runners, called the Ozark Mountain Road Runners, entered the National AAU 20 Kilometer Championship at Tulsa, OK, and finished in second place. Team member Clyde O. Johnson won first in the 50-59 year age group.

In 1978, Wayne McKinney and Floyd Johnson decided to co-found an area running club. Johnson recommended the name Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners and McKinney phrased the OMRR motto, "Train for the Health of It...Race for the Fun of It!", which highlights the two major objectives of OMRR. The club was formally organized on May 17, 1978 and became affiliated with the Road Runner's Club of America. Clyde O. Johnson was elected the first OMRR President. OMRR began sponsoring local races ranging from 1 mile to 50 miles in length. The club's newsletter, Running Briefs, began in the 1970s and the club's Web site was launched in 1999 by OMRR Board member Richard Johnson and is now managed by OMRR member David Wilcox. Since then OMRR began sponsoring several races for charity and started several running programs, such as Runner of the Year, the PR Corner, and the Triple Crown of Racing.

Board of Directors

The Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners Board of Directors consists of up to ten unpaid elected volunteers who are responsible for the management of the club. The current Board members are:

  • President: Rod Pennington
  • Vice President: Richard Leiboult
  • Secretary (Membership & Merchandise): Dee Thomas
  • Treasurer: Mary Miles
  • Director at Large (Social Media): John Everett
  • Director at Large (Volunteers): Kris Bossert
  • Director at Large (Website & Bass Pro Training): Sandy Keith
  • Director at Large (Special Events): Dan Wells
  • Director at Large (Bass Pro Training): Lali Tucker
  • Director at Large (Bass Pro Training & Social Media): Sara Ibbetson

Feel free to contact any board member with any question or problem.

OMRR Bylaws

The Ozark Mountain Ridge Runners adopted new bylaws in January 2011. You are welcome to read the bylaws.

Contact Us

Email us at

Our mailing address is:

P.O. Box 10067
Springfield, MO 65808-0067